Texas awards millions for community mental health

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission: Kelli Weldon

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission is awarding up to $15 million in grant funds to 31 governmental entities and nonprofit organizations located across the state to provide mental health services to communities.

In 2017, Rep. Four Price’s House Bill 13 established HHSC’s Community Mental Health Grant Program and provides $30 million in state funds over the 2018-19 biennium to be matched by grantees with local and private funds.

“The Texas Legislature passed several bills, including H.B. 13, designed to improve the delivery of mental health services statewide. I am pleased by HHSC’s diligent work to implement H.B. 13 and expect better outcomes across Texas because of it,” stated Rep. Price.

Grants will fund community programs to expand treatment, promote recovery and improve quality of life for individuals with mental illness. Examples of expanded treatment and services include supported housing, coordinated jail release, behavioral health services in schools and peer support services.

Grant funding was awarded through an application process, which required a project proposal. Grant awardees are required to match a portion of the state’s grant award to demonstrate their commitment to addressing the mental health needs of individuals living in their communities.

The following organizations have been selected to receive funding for the grant program and will begin providing services in the proposed counties listed pending execution of contracts:

  • Amistad Community Health Center – Nueces County
  • Baptist Hospital of Southeast Texas – Jefferson County
  • Boys and Girls Club of Pharr – Hidalgo County
  • Children’s Medical Center Dallas – Dallas County
  • Collin County – Collin County
  • Communities In Schools Houston – Harris County
  • Communities In Schools North Texas – Denton County
  • Community Hope Projects, Inc. – Hidalgo, Cameron and Willacy counties
  • CommUnity Care – Travis County
  • Covenant Health System Foundation – Lubbock County
  • Dallas-Fort Worth Hospital Council Foundation – Ellis, Erath, Grayson, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Navarro, Parker, Rockwall, Somervell and Wise counties
  • Depelchin Children’s Center – Harris County
  • Ecumenical Center – Aransas, Atascosa, Bandera, Bee, Bexar, Blanco, Brooks, Cameron, Comal, Duval, Edwards, Frio, Gillespie, Hidalgo, Jim Hogg, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kendall, Kenedy, Kerr, Kleberg, Kimble, Live Oak, Llano, Mason, Medina, Nueces, Real, San Patricio, Starr, Uvalde, Val Verde, Wilson, Willacy, Webb and Zapata counties
  • Family Support Services of Amarillo – Potter and Randall counties
  • Foundation Communities – Travis County
  • Gregg County – Gregg County
  • Harris County – Harris County
  • Hope Fort Bend Clubhouse – Fort Bend County
  • Joven – Bexar County
  • National Alliance on Mental Illness – Bell, Bexar, Denton, El Paso, Jones, Nueces, Smith, Tarrant, Taylor, Travis counties
  • NEWCO – Cooke, Fannin and Grayson counties
  • Project Vida Health Center – El Paso County
  • SAMMinistries – Bexar County
  • San Antonio Clubhouse – Bexar County
  • Texas Tech University Health Science Center – Armstrong, Carson, Deaf Smith, Hutchison, Moore, Oldham, Potter, Randall and Swisher counties
  • The Women’s Home – Harris County
  • United Way Amarillo Canyon – Dallam, Potter and Randall counties
  • United Way Denton County – Denton County
  • University of Texas Rio Grande Valley – Cameron and Hidalgo counties
  • University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center – Dallas County
  • West Texas A&M University – Randall County

Funds are being awarded as part of the second phase of HHSC’s Community Mental Health Grant Program. HHSC announced awards for the first phase in January 2018.