J.M. Kaplan Fund Offers Grants to Nonprofit Publishers

FURTHERMORE grants in publishing a program of the J. M. Kaplan Fund

Furthermore grants in publishing, a program of the J. M. Kaplan Fund, supports publication of nonfiction books that concern the arts, history, and the natural and built environment.  Grant applications are accepted twice a year with deadlines of March 1 and September 1.

The program was founded in 1995 by Joan K. Davidson, Kaplan Fund trustee and president emeritus.  Since its inception, Furthermore has assisted more than 1,000 publishing projects with grants that total almost $5 million.

The J.M. Kaplan Fund was established in 1945 by businessman and philanthropist Jacob Merrill Kaplan (1891–1987), who was its president until 1977.  Today the Fund is managed by an Operating Board that consists of J. M. Kaplan’s seven grandchildren.  Peter Davidson chairs the Board. Executive director Amy Freitag leads program staff.

Joan K. Davidson has been involved with the Fund for most of her adult life.  She served as its president from 1977 until 1993, when she was appointed commissioner of the New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation.  In 1995, as president emeritus of the Fund, she founded its Furthermore grants in publishing program, which she continues to lead today.

Furthermore is one of very few philanthropic programs that specifically support printed and illustrated books.  Applications are reviewed by a group of scholars, publishers, and individuals; they collectively identify the projects that receive Furthermore grants.

Ann Birckmayer has served as the administrator of Furthermore since 1998.

  • Furthermore is now using the grant management software program Foundant Technologies for our application process; the creation of a Foundant account is necessary to view the application itself.  Click here for more.