Search TXNP

< More Press Releases

Sunday, January 21, 2018

Share: facebooktwitterdigg

Special Olympics of Texas

January, 2017

City of Sugar Land’s 1st Assistant City Manager Steve Griffith (Sugar Land) has been promoted to the Vice Chair position on Special Olympics Texas’ (SOTX) Board of Directors a year after returning to the board in at-large role as the Board’s Treasurer. 


“The Board is proud to recognize Steve Griffith as the new incoming Vice Chair,” said Chad Tywater, SOTX Board Chairman. “Steve has served in this position in the past and brings a wealth of experience that will be invaluable to the board in 2017.”


With more than 25 years of involvement with SOTX, Griffith has spent more than 11 of those years on the Board, including a two-year stint as Chairman.


Prior to returning to the Board in 2016, he served as a Law Enforcement Torch Run (LETR) representative.


Griffith is the former Greater Houston Area (Area 4) chairman, a position he served in for six years. Revenue for Area 4 reached over $100,000 for four years. Griffith served as LETR’s state director for two years. During his tenure as state director, he worked to integrate the state prison system into the Torch Run and generated $2 million annually for the Texas Torch Runners. The Texas Torch Run received national awards for revenue growth and totals. 


A Houston-area native and a 35-year law enforcement veteran, Griffith was named the City of Sugar Land’s Chief of Police in August 2005 and was promoted to 1st Assistant City Manager in 2014. He oversees Police, Fire, Public Safety Dispatch, Municipal Courts, the Airport and Communications.


Griffith is actively involved in the Sugar Land community. He serves on the Board of the Fort Bend Council on Substance Abuse where he served as treasurer from 2010-2011. He is a member of the Sugar Land Exchange Club and served as president from 2011-2012.


Prior to his employment with the City of Sugar Land, Griffith served as executive director of the Advanced Law Enforcement Rapid Response Training (ALERRT) Center for two years at Texas State University in San Marcos. His leadership was instrumental in the design and creation of a partnership between the University, the San Marcos Police Department and the Hays County Sheriff’s office to address the need for active-shooter response training for first-responders. The ALERRT Center has since trained more than 80,000 police officers nationwide in dynamic, force-on-force scenario-based training.  


Griffith was police chief for the City of San Marcos from 1998 to 2003; the City of West University from 1987 to 1998 and spent eight years with the Bellaire Police Department, where he served in the positions of captain, lieutenant, patrol sergeant and senior patrol officer. Early in his career, Griffith also served with the University of Houston Central Campus Police.


From 1976 until 1979, he was employed by the University of Houston as a patrol officer. Griffith earned a bachelor’s degree in business administration from the University of Houston and a master’s degree in criminal justice management from Sam Houston State University. He is a graduate of the FBI National Academy and the public executive institute at The University of Texas Lyndon Baines Johnson School of Public Affairs. Griffith holds a master peace officer and instructor certificate and served as an adjunct criminal justice instructor at Texas State University. He is a member of the International Association of Chief of Police, the Texas Police Chief’s Association, Texas Police Association and Harris County Area Chief of Police Association. In late 2007, Griffith accepted a request by Governor Rick Perry to serve as a Commissioner on the Board of Commissioners for the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Officer Standards and Education (TCLEOSE).


He and his wife, Wendy, have two sons. Adam has completed his bachelor’s degree in Anthropology from Texas State University. Tim has obtained his master’s degree in Criminal Justice and is a Police Sergeant in Kyle, Texas.


A full listing of officers and members on the 2017 SOTX Board of Directors is below.


Chair: Chad Tywater (Round Rock)
Vice Chair: Steve Griffith (Sugar Land)
Past Chair: Hector Amaya (San Antonio)
Secretary & Attorney: Maureen McCutchen (Galveston)
Parliamentarian: Rick McCarty (San Antonio)
Treasurer: Dale Hosack (Sugar Land)

Athlete: Patti Ballew (Amarillo)
At-Large: Shon Bjornberg (Farmers Branch)
At-Large: Robert Bradshaw (Houston)
At-Large: Frank Fuccello (Austin)
At Large: Steve Hatchell (Irving)
At-Large: Ralph Herring (Houston)
At-Large: Jake Squiers (Lufkin)
At-Large: Sam Arciniega (Houston)
At-Large: Curtis Scheffe (Aledo)
At-Large: Jeanette Thorne (Amarillo)
Physical Education/Rec.: Jackie Zigtema (Tyler)
Programs: Steve Hayes (Southlake)
Programs: Tammy Hortenstein (Bronte)
CPA: Kristi Hudson (Cleburne)



About Special Olympics Texas
Special Olympics Texas (SOTX) is a privately funded non-profit organization that changes lives through the power of sport by encouraging and empowering people with intellectual disabilities, promoting acceptance for all, and fostering communities of understanding and respect.  SOTX provides continuing opportunities for more than 55,200 children and adults with intellectual disabilities throughout the Lone Star State to realize their potential, develop physical fitness, demonstrate courage and experience joy and friendship.  To learn more, visit or call 800.876.5646.  Engage with us on:


Statewide Year-Round Co-Sponsors:


Your TXNP Weekly E-Newsletter is made possible by the generosity of:

FROST in many Texas cities

TXNP Professional Members Are Dedicated to Texas and Texans.

Aurora Grants & Consulting |Dawson Murray Teague Communications | ELITE Research | FOR THE PHILANTHROPIST | Graystone Consulting | J A Churchill Associates | John F. Lewis PC | McConnell & Jones LLC

Sign up for your personal TXNP E-Newsletter

at-t Meadows Foundation express news HOBLITZELLE FOUNDATION v greenly zachry foundation w b h b bank of america southwest airlines Sid W. Richardson Foundation forst