Search TXNP

< More Press Releases

Tuesday, January 23, 2018

Share: facebooktwitterdigg

Houston Seeking Nominations for Mayor's Disability Advocate of the Year Awards
City of Houston

July, 2010


Seeking Nominations for 2010 Mayor's Disability Advocate of the Year Awards

    The Mayor's Office for People with Disabilities and Houston Commission on Disabilities are seeking nominations for the Disability Advocate of the Year Awards.


Deadline for submitting nominations: Tuesday, August 31, 2010


The annual Mayor's Disability Advocate of the Year Awards (MDAYA) recognize and honor the contributions of advocates, who through volunteerism in the community, have made a significant impact in one or more of the following ways:


  • Increasing awareness of disability issues in the non-disabled Houston community.
  • Working toward the resolution of a barrier to people with disabilities.
  • Effectively representing those who cannot represent themselves.

Three disability advocates will be selected: one with a disability, one without a disability, and one junior advocateIn addition to the three awards, the MDAYA Selection Committee may, at its discretion, recognize a deceased individual with a posthumous award. The awards are based on the virtue and impact of their work.


Nomination Form (.doc):

Nomination Form (.pdf):

MDAYA Guidelines:

2009 MDAYA Winners:


For more information, please contact Kaitlyn Tracy, Mayor's Office for People with Disabilities, at 281-936-0770 or e-mail 


Your TXNP Weekly E-Newsletter is made possible by the generosity of:

FROST in many Texas cities

TXNP Professional Members Are Dedicated to Texas and Texans.

Aurora Grants & Consulting |Dawson Murray Teague Communications | ELITE Research | FOR THE PHILANTHROPIST | Graystone Consulting | J A Churchill Associates | John F. Lewis PC | McConnell & Jones LLC

Sign up for your personal TXNP E-Newsletter

at-t Meadows Foundation express news HOBLITZELLE FOUNDATION v greenly zachry foundation w b h b bank of america southwest airlines Sid W. Richardson Foundation forst